Sweet tooth?

This isn’t a post about how you should eat an apple instead of a bag of chips…of course you should do that.

Sometimes we have a major sweet tooth…I know I do. Sometimes it’s okay to indulge in a treat you really enjoy. My favorite is cupcakes and brownies (with frosting, of course). But when you don’t want to indulge or ruin your day, there are ways to get that fix.  Here are two I have found in the past 2 weeks that don’t feel “healthy” at all!

love love love Oreos! On a recent trip to Wal-Mart a friend pointed out a box of Special K Cookies and Creme pastry thins. I have had the strawberry ones in the past and if you are a lover of strawberry pop-tarts…those are amazing. So I picked up this box and threw it in the cart with no expectations. I had a sweet tooth a little later in the day as I always do and to my surprise…it tasted exactly like an Oreo… for only 100 calories for 2!

Kellogg's Special K Cookies & Creme Pastry Crisps

Now, if you like to bake and a box won’t do it for you.. there are plenty of healthier recipes online you can look into. (Some are at the top of my page under “college recipes”). My house-mate also tries to eat on the healthier side along with me. The other day she stumbled upon a recipe for skinny peanut butter swirl brownies. She made them on a Tuesday when she was home after class and I got the pleasure of coming home from school and enjoying them! They are fudgy, soft, peanut-buttery, and delicious. If you love chocolate and peanut butter…make these! Sally has many recipes on the link above… which I am also adding to the menu bar!

skinny-peanut-butter-fudge-brownies-4

Last but not least, skinny peanut butter banana muffinsYep. Can you tell I love chocolate? I hope so! We made these on a weekend and they are a great quick breakfast or a protein packed snack or dessert. Make sure you drizzle them with peanut butter…you won’t regret it.

 Skinny-Peanut-Butter-Banana-Muffins-7

All of these substitutions would please a person at any age, so if you want treats for the little ones or your picky boyfriend/husband…try these before anything filled with way too many calories and way too much fat. You’ll be doing them a favor, and eliminating your temptations. It’s a win-win. 🙂

Leave a Reply

